New Year

20150108-194612-71172815.jpg

20150108-194614-71174124.jpg
This is what I did New Year’s Day; skated in Mississauga’s Celebration Square. I used to ice skate every week when I lived in Birmingham, but since moving to Canada, which is covered in ice and snow for several months, I think I have skated only three times. Once was on the Rideau Canal in Ottawa, which was wonderful, I think in Montreal one time, and New Year’s Day 2015.

My first week back at work has not been great. Temperatures plunged, so did parents tempers, Becky had several appointments, and I had to take my bus to Toronto unexpectedly. It was on a day when Becky had an appointment, but I was told I would be given another bus to drive. No problem. I dropped off my bus, a little later than expected due to snowy conditions, and waited for another bus, and waited, and waited. An hour was long enough. I asked what was going on. “We can’t start the bus we were going to give you” the mechanic said. “I have to go”, I told him. After a bit of a discussion, I finally took my bus back to Mississauga. What a waste of time and then I had race to get Becky to her appointment. It was a long appointment and I basically dropped her back at home and raced off to do my afternoon bus route. I was managing on half a cup of tea and a slice of toast, which I’d had at 6 am!

So as the days become more stressful, I think about ice skating. I remember the beautiful Christmas lights, the crisp air, and the feeling of freedom as I skated around and around without a care in the world. Lovely.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Canada, Disability, Family, Life, parenting, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

