Trip to Bavaria

BBQ 16

I haven’t written lately because the WordPress App on my iPod wouldn’t let me.  I normally write on the fly, as do many of you, I think, so I haven’t written.  I just uploaded the new update, and now the App won’t open at all.  I thought it was about time that

1. I complained about it, and

2. I let you know what was happening

Becky announced one day that she was bored.  This is probably something that most of you with children can appreciate, but this is something new for Becky.  She was typically  happy to watch movies all day ( not that I ever let that happen) or go along with whatever activities were suggested to her.  She’s a pretty easy-going kinda gal, so “bored” meant there had been a change.  She had developed enough cognitively to now need greater intellectual stimulation.  Wow! This was a huge step forward, but also a bit of a scheduling nightmare.

First of all, Becky decided she didn’t want to cook anymore.  After two years, I had to let our chef go. Now what? I had a HUGE panic attack.  ‘What was I going to do with her seven days a week? What was I going to do with her for the foreseeable future? How was I going to manage with her for five years, or longer?’ I don’t know. We are brainstorming regularly, and have some ideas, but there is no clear path yet. We need definite days and times for community activities in order to hire new staff, but we just don’t have that sorted yet.  We are left with no staff and no plan while Becky tries to figure out what she wants.

The title of the post is the name of a Scottish Country Dance, where everybody is moving at once, in different directions, and often chaos ensues. Everybody ends up laughing.  It feels very chaotic right now, but I can’t see anything humourous.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Family, Home, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip to Bavaria

  1. I believe this is just he dance of disability, a sort of waltz with chaos. Like chaos it appears to increase over time, then doesn’t, yielding moments of mirth and glee. May the find you soon!

    • chebandbecky says:

      You’re quite right, Michael. Chaos ebbs and flows. We are searching for a way through to those “moments of mirth and glee”. A lovely turn of phrase. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

