Leek and Gruyere Rosti

This is another Gordon Ramsay recipe from “Home Cooking”. You parboil a pound of potatoes. Cool and grate. Meanwhile shred a leek and sauté until soft. Add the potato, 2 ounces grated Gruyere, seasoning and mix. 


Fry in butter and oil for 10 minutes, pushing the mixture into a flat pancake shape. 


Put a plate on top and flip everything over. Add some more oil to the pan and slide the Rosti back in to cook the other side. Cook for another 10 minutes.  Serve with fried egg. 


As usual, we changed the recipe a bit. I was distracted by some problem and the potatoes ended up fully cooked. I didn’t have time for them to cool so I threw them in cold water. The photo in the book shows the Rosti in a cast iron pan so that’s what I used. Not a good idea. A non-stick frying pan would probably work better or don’t flip the thing over but pop it under the grill/broiler. 

It was quite a bit of work, used a lot of pans, and didn’t look the most appetizing; however, it passed the taste test. Delish. I think we would make smaller Rosti next time and prepare the potatoes the day before. 


We had ours with chipotle ketchup. Yum! This was a good supper for a cold night. 




The days are still cool, but Spring has finally arrived…

Cheryl and Becky 

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in cooking, Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leek and Gruyere Rosti

  1. restlessjo says:

    I’d love this combination but my husband can’t eat cheese. Sadly! 😦 Hope all is well now?

    • chebandbecky says:

      That’s a shame, but you can leave the cheese out. I’m sure it will still be good.

      We had sad news on Friday about Becky’s Grandma. She has been sick for several weeks. I might do a post about it. I’m not sure. I’m not great at sharing personal stuff on the blog. Thanks for asking Jo. Xx

Leave a Reply

