Change and Rearrange

I spent most of last night setting up a Twitter account, which frankly, I don’t know what to do with, and visiting the blogs of people who had visited me.

I was so impressed by what I saw; it was a feast for the eyes.  I saw a blog about a man who had a spinal cord injury seven years ago, and lost the use of his legs.  He is about to travel around the world in a wheelchair.  Impressive, maybe, but he climbs mountains!  He paraglides, kayaks and hand-cycles up mountains.  He wrote one blog from 17,000 feet in the Himalayas.  Wow.  Ask yourself, am I achieving my true potential.  Compared to this, probably not. 

Other sites had wonderful photos, incredible art work, and brilliant stories; both fact and fiction.  There were stories of travel, strength, humour, and downright craziness.  I was quite reluctant to return ‘home’ after visiting so many people in so many places.  I have to thank the people who visit me too.  I think I have such a drab life, and yet you stop to read about it.  I am always excited when I see someone has given me a ‘thumbs up’ or a comment.  These people are from all around the world, and they visit me, and I in turn can visit them.

Not such a big deal, you might think, but for someone whose family is three thousand miles away, it’s quite a big deal.  It has been difficult at times as I felt the distance between us.  Now it seems I can travel electronically all over the world, and in return, other people visit me.  I started the blog as a way to be creative, and to share some of my stories with family and friends far away.  I never could have imagined the impact it would have on me, and perhaps is having on other people.

Okay, before I get too gushy…based on the extravaganza that I saw last night, I thought I could make my blog a bit more visually appealing.  I am an art major after all, so shame on me for not even trying.  Anyway, I hope you like the new theme and images.  I may even post some favourite photos from time to time.

See you soon.

 

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in blogging, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change and Rearrange

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    You’re so right, Cheb…we’re all guilty of using much less of our potential at times…and perhaps that’s being generous…a success story like this really snaps you back…well done…and a nice photo, too!

    Tom

Leave a Reply

