Life In Perspective

I haven’t written this week; not because there isn’t anything to say, but because there doesn’t seem to be time to say it. I seem to spend most of my time cleaning the house for showings…what a joy. The rest of the time is spent out of the house while there’s showings. I’m usually in such a hurry that I forget my iPod and my glasses. No surprises there!

Anyway, these are small inconveniences in the big scheme of things, the biggest event this week is that a dear friend was taken to hospital with chest problems. We’ve had several friends that have had angioplastys or had stents implanted and figured this would be the same. Nope. He has to go to Toronto next week for open heart surgery. It was a shock to all of us.

His daughter has, thankfully, kept us all updated on Facebook, and we have been able to post messages to send to him. I’ve only been on Facebook for a week, and I wasn’t really sure about the decision, which took me seven years to make. This has convinced me. With one message, all friends and family were informed of the medical status, and we could unobtrusively leave messages. Remember those times when you were sick and people kept coming to the door and the phone wouldn’t stop ringing? Those days could be over. I suppose, like many things, it’s how it is used that makes Facebook useful or intrusive. I am so glad I had access to it this week, and will continue to watch the newsfeed next week to see how things are going.

In the meantime, I plan on visiting my friend in hospital to give him a kick up the arse, for scaring the pants off everybody. Geez. It certainly put things sharply into perspective. You realize that some things can’t be replaced, and those are the things worth caring about; your health, your friends, and your family.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

