You Know You’re Sick When…

…canned spaghetti on toast tastes like the best thing ever, and you wonder why you don’t eat it more often.

Becky and I have been pretty sick the last week.  I lived on soup for three days, and she lived on throat lozenges.  Yesterday we decided it was time to hit the grocery store.  I was having a moment of energy, so on the spur of the moment we headed out.  In hindsight, I probably should have paid a bit more attention to our attire, but I thought we would be in and out of the store in no time at all. 

We spent a bit more time than we should have at the canned pasta section. “Where’s the spaghetti rings”, I asked?  Nowhere in sight.  I had my heart set on pasta hoops.  What shall we have instead. “Penguins”, Becky said.  “I’m not eating penguins”, I replied.  Becky has trouble getting spaghetti from her plate to her mouth, so we opted for some sort of shapes, and eventually picked the only sensible product out of the lot; Scooby Doo pasta.

We threw a few more things in the basket and headed to the check-out, when a little voice said, “Hello, Cheryl”. I turned around to see a previous design client of mine.  “Oh, Hi.  How are you”?

“Good”, she said.  “I have my parents visiting from Australia at the moment.”  Nice.  “And here they are.”  Lovely.  We were introduced to the parents, and I finally looked at Becky, to introduce her, and had a huge shock; she looked like a demented rooster, or Flock of Seagulls on a windy day.  Bloody hell.  I realized I probably looked terrible as well, with a swollen red nose, bags under my eyes, and I couldn’t remember if I’d combed my hair.  “We better be going”, I said.  “Nice to see you”, she said.  Oh yeah.

They do say, if you’re feeling lonely, you should go out with slippers on, or clothes inside out, or something, because guaranteed, when you look like a maroon, you will run into everybody in the neighbourhood. I rest my case. 

The pasta was gooooood. Probably because it was the first solid food either of us had had in days, but still, it was an enjoyable food moment; one to savour.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Humour, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

