Freedom!

It has been a long, long winter. Becky and I have been stuck in the house for four months! The reasons are varied. Becky had surgery, the lift broke, frigid temperatures, I hurt my back, and the lift broke again.

This week, a new lift was going to be installed.

20150503-091947-33587300.jpg

Unfortunately, the technician seemed unable to remove the old lift. Becky was in tears and I felt ill. We would have to wait a few more days.

We heard nothing from the company, even after I called and left a message. This was not looking good. I called again on Friday morning and this time I reached a live person. They were planning on finishing the installation that afternoon.

We were still afraid to get our hopes up, but at 1:30 pm they pulled in the driveway. At 3:00 pm they pulled out. Look what they left.

20150503-092728-34048725.jpg

20150503-092727-34047515.jpg

20150503-092726-34046293.jpg

Freedom!

What a relief and what happiness. Now Becky can enter and exit the house independently. I can now leave her again for short periods of time. Naturally we celebrated by going for an ice cream.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Family, Home, Life, parenting, wheelchair, winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freedom!

  1. Wonderful! I love it when a plan finally works! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

