Break A Leg 

Yep, that’s exactly what I did ten weeks ago during the dangerous activity of gardening. Unfortunately no-one was around so I had to crawl the 150 feet back to the house to call for help. The bones were set and cast that day, but I was told I needed surgery. 

I went home to take care of Becky and to make arrangements for the next day. Our friends jumped in to help, so after a sleepless night I headed back to the hospital knowing that Becky was in good hands. It was a long painful wait for surgery, but at 1 pm I was called in. I wasn’t nervous, I just wanted it over with so I could go home. 

I woke up several hours later feeling sleepy and nauseous. I passed out several times but finally started to come around another two hours later. I called my neighbour to come and pick me up. I guess I should have got dressed first. Oh well. Once dressed we headed home. 

  
I was surprised to find the house full of friends having a jolly time with Becky. It was a lovely sight. I settled on the couch and tried to relax. The morphine helped. 

  
I lived on the couch for two weeks. Neighbours and friends came daily to help out. I struggled to get around on crutches and found it exhausting to complete the simplest task. After two weeks I returned to the hospital to have the cast and staples removed and a new streamlined fibreglass cast put on. 

   
 
Our darling cat, Raspberry, stayed with me during six weeks of wearing a cast. 

  
  
And afterwards too.

  
I started physiotherapy as soon as possible. Sometimes Becky and I exercise together. 

  
Here we are practicing walking. I have been told that my recovery may take up to a year. I get to experience first hand some of Becky’s struggles and she gets to experience some of my worries. 

What a strange year we are having. I know these things happen but they seem to happen to us an awful lot. We are both looking forward to the future, thankful to have each other and a group of friends who care so deeply for us. 

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Family, Friends, Home, Life, parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Break A Leg 

  1. What a marvelous post! Sorry about the broken leg. Glad you have such wonderful neighbors and friends!

  2. Reblogged this on Looking Through The Picture Frame and commented:
    A heartfelt and real experience of when the caregiver needs care. Very sweet. Very real.

  3. I hope you are feeling much better by now. Please do let us know.

  4. Ralph says:

    Sorry to read about your leg, but your leg plus your cat make wonderful photos. Love them ! 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

